Working Programmer's Emacs

I’m not an Emacs expert, but I’ve been using it for about 8 years. Emacs gives me a lot of power for editing Clojure (and other text), despite me knowing only the basics. It has a few hurdles to learning, and I’d like to make a series of lessons helping people over those hurdles.

Topics will include:

• Emacs Basics (Opening/closing files, switching buffers, etc)
  • Emacs Copy-Paste (it’s a little different from most apps)
  • Paren setup (without Paredit)
  • Cider (the two keystrokes I really use)
  • Paredit (and the four keystrokes you need to stay sane and be productive)
  • Emacs Configuration (just the basics!) and Package management (how to install new packages)
  • Emacs Help (the internal help system and helpful web resources)

Please vote. Comments are encouraged!

• :thumbsup: Yes, please teach this!
  • :thumbsdown: No, I’m not interested.

0 voters

Keep going back and forth between that and cursive. Would also be interested in the latter

I heard your interview with Ben Orenstein on the Thoughtbot podcast and your intentions of having guests. For an advanced episode on Emacs, the guy from “Parens for the Dead” would be ideal. I learned a lot by watching how he uses Emacs, but it was only a fraction because he moves very fast and didn’t really explain what he was doing with Emacs.

Also, watching someone like him use Emacs also kept me motivated to learn it. There is something about observing a master craftsman work with his tools.

On option to consider with Emacs is to come at it from the angle of Spacemacs. I’ve been a Vim user for a few years and am making a transition to Emacs 100% motivated by the superior Clojure tooling. Spacemacs was recommended to me to ease the transition and so far it’s been great.