How did you get into Clojure?

What’s your story? Please share!

I learned Lisp in college for an AI course. It was ok, but I didn’t get hooked. Later, I learned that Lisp was easy to write (from an interview with Richard Stallman). I wanted to write a small language to experiment with. That got me hooked. That was 2001.

I started learning about Common Lisp in 2002. By 2004, I was using it in all of my grad school assignments, much to the surprise of my professors. I started studying On Lisp, which was free, and I was a cheapskate. It really broadened my ideas about why Lisp was interesting on a philosophical level. In 2007, I created a website (which did not go anywhere) using Common Lisp. It was a great experience since it was my first foray into modern web development. I also created the first LispCast videos and began blogging.

In 2008, I learned about Clojure at the Lisp 50 convention. It seemed interesting so I gave it a shot. I never looked back. Clojure was so well designed and such a pleasure to use, that although it did not have a lot of the oomph of Common Lisp, I could tell that there was a way forward. Common Lisp seemed antiquated, though containing a lot of built-up wisdom. Clojure was a fresh start, built upon that wisdom, but totally free from the chains of the past. And being on the JVM with good interop meant there were tons of libraries I was already familiar with.

I wrote quite a bit of code in it on my own, tracking its development, just on the side. In 2013 I got a fulltime job in Clojure, and I am loving it. I like that I now have reason to contribute back to clojure.core and other libraries.

Clojure, to me, is a leap forward for the industry. It is well-designed with a thoughtful set of principles. It’s not the end-all-be-all of languages, but there is a lot for me to learn and there’s a lot of runway for the language. It is still not done evolving. And macros let it evolve through libraries, such as it has already done with core.async.