Destructuring is so meta

This is sort of a combo category, an actual technical question and a suggestion that we add a category for Raw Noob Help or something along those lines. I can sort of, kind of, barely follow most of the questions posted to the discussion boards, so as a raw beginner, I feel a little bit embarrassed asking for help on something that feels, relatively speaking, stupefyingly basic. Nevertheless, I will press on anyway and carry the torch for the very small inner club of mouth-breathing noobs (current population: 1). To wit:

Trying to learn some very basic destructuring and I think I’ve put this together correctly, but the result that comes back at me when I try to run the function is “nil.” Totally not what I was going for. Could I get another pair of eyes on this to tell me what I’m missing, please?

(defn choosey
  [[first-up second-up & whatevers]]
  (println (str "Your first choice is: " first-up))
  (println (str "Your second choice is: " second-up))
  (println (str "Nobdy cares about the rest. "
                "But, for the record, here are the also-rans: "
                (clojure.string/join ", " whatevers))))

(choosey ["chocolate" "gum" "cookies" "pizza" "hard candy"])

Anyone else get the same thing or is it working properly for you? I’m using Light Table as my editor/repl and I am not sure if it’s just a matter of LightTable just kicking back the last value???

Hi @snuffaluffagus,

This question is totally welcome here! I hope to make this a place where people can feel free to ask any question, no matter how basic it may seem. We’re all learning.

So, it seems to work on mine. You can see the prompts (exploratorium.core>), the printouts, and then the return (nil).

exploratorium.core> (choosey ["chocolate" "gum" "cookies" "pizza" "hard candy"])
Your first choice is: chocolate
Your second choice is: gum
Nobdy cares about the rest. But, for the record, here are the also-rans: cookies, pizza, hard candy
nil
exploratorium.core>